New Year Traditions: On Writing

Last year, I set myself a new tradition: that every year I was going to read Stephen King’s On Writing, to remind myself of the basic rules of writing.

I count myself lucky that I was able to study creative writing at university. I spent three blissful years learning how to not only craft a story, but also improve my writing skills for different platforms, such as fiction, journalism, and script writing.

But I finished uni…oohh…*sharp in take of breath*…eight years ago. And writing is like any muscle – if you don’t use it, it withers. In the near decade since I graduated, I’ve been very religious about the amount of writing I’ve done. I’ve always had a project on the go, whether that be a novel, a blog, or a comic. I’ve continued to flex that muscle, but last year I felt I had forgotten some of those golden writing rules.

At the time I had just finished Book 1 of The Six Hands of Fate, and I hated the story. It wasn’t just that it was the first draft – it was that I knew I could do so much better. That the me, who left uni bursting with ideas and brimming of knowledge of how to write a good story, wouldn’t have written such rubbish.

So I took the opportunity of that 6 week break between drafts to remind myself of the basics. And Stephen King’s On Writing is always the first book I turn to when I want a refresher on the golden rules of writing. Some self-help writing books go on for 100s of pages, but On Writing is a mere 320 pages long, half of which is King’s autobiography. On Writing provides the skeleton of writing advice. If you want some more in depth knowledge of story elements, such as character, world building or genres, then you can pick up another book (I’ll leave some recommendations of books I’ve used before at the bottom of this post).

You don’t have to enjoy King as a writer to enjoy On Writing. The only book of his I have read is Carrie. I tried to read Misery, but got so freaked out by the mop bucket scene that I had to stop reading it. But On Writing is basic facts and funny stories.

I would urge any budding – or established – writer to give it a read. It really will set your feet back on the ground.

Do you have any reading or writing traditions? Comment down below. Let me know.

Recommendations for further reading/listening:

  • The Creative Writing Coursebook by Julia Bell
  • How Not To Write a Novel by Howard Mittelmark and Sandra Newman
  • The Writing Excuses podcast, hosted by Dan Wells, Brandon Sanderson, Mary Robinette Kowal and Howard Tayler

Leave a comment